Nc Legal Limit for Window Tint

If your vehicle`s rear window is tinted, North Carolina rules state that you must have two side mirrors in good condition. The hue colors of red, amber, and yellow windows are prohibited by North Carolina law, as are the shades of those colors, and since highly reflective hues are illegal, some metallic hues are also illegal. A deviation of 3% for the darkness of the tint is allowed, so even a car with 32% VLT tint on the side and rear windows usually avoids a ticket for violation of the tint of the windows in the state. Manufacturers and sellers of window tints in North Carolina aren`t required to certify that the film they sell complies with state rules, nor do vehicle owners have to affix stickers marking the hue as legal, though these stickers are a great way to quickly avoid a problem during a roadside check or inspection. North Carolina`s tint rules allow medical exceptions for darker window tint, so if you have photosensitivity issues, skin conditions, or other conditions that merit a darker window tint than legally allowed, talk to a doctor and a DMV or police officer. With over 20 years of experience in the window tinting and paint protection industry, we can help you find the perfect shade that will make your car stand out, give you extra protection and stay within the legal limits of your condition. Our friendly and knowledgeable technicians can answer any questions you may have about window tint laws in your state. In North Carolina, window tint is determined by visible light transmission (VLT). In other words, the percentage of light allowed to pass through the window and into the vehicle. The CN colour laws vary depending on the type of vehicle and the position of the windows (windscreen, front, rear, rear). North Carolina allows windshield tint with 70% VLT under medical exemptions. A licence may be issued by the Motor Vehicle Medical Examination Program Division of the CN for a period of 2 to 5 years.

An exceptional medical sticker must be affixed to the lower left corner of the rear window. Failure to display the sticker is punishable by a $200 fine. In North Carolina, passenger cars must have a 35% VLT on all windows. Windshields should only be tinted on the top 5 inches (AS1 line) and should not be reflective. Trucks, SUVs and vans must have a 35% VLT on the front windows and may have darkness on the rear and rear windows. North Carolina allows reflective tinting, but windows cannot be more than 20% reflective. WARNING: Your state`s laws on window tint may change daily. These rules and regulations may be interpreted differently by city or district authorities. We recommend that you verify the accuracy of this information with your local VDD or local law enforcement authorities. This information on window tint laws was last updated on the day of 2021. If you find any of this information to be inaccurate, please let us know so we can update it! Photosensitive individuals who require darker window colours may apply for a medical exemption from the CN Motor Vehicle Division Medical Examination Program.

As you can see in most states, laws regarding the tint of windshield glass in North Carolina are easy to follow: you can apply a non-reflective window film to the glass manufacturer`s AS-1 line, which is a line about a few inches below where the glass meets the roof. If you cannot determine the position of the AS-1 line, use five inches as a reference for the thickness of the color strip. The same rules apply to the colour of the windscreen for all types of vehicles. And keep in mind that most cars, trucks, and SUVs are advanced with a factory tint on the windshield, so it may not be necessary to apply that window tint anyway. (If your vehicle doesn`t have a factory tint, consider applying legal non-reflective window film, as this tint reduces glare from the sun, relieves eyes, and makes driving safer.) Repair orders are distributed by law enforcement officers who require drivers to repair or remove certain dangerous or prohibited features from a vehicle. Failure to comply with repair orders can result in hefty fines and suspensions. None of us want to spend a Saturday removing window movies, so the best option is to just follow the rules. There are many legal options to suit your comfort and style needs at AP Car Window Tinting.

Most modern vehicles come with a small amount of window tint, usually this number is about 75-85% VLT. So if you`re buying replacement glass film, make sure you compensate for the window tint that`s already in place when you choose your tint. Absolute Perfection`s car window tint department always checks these VLT values for you to ensure that the window film we use is legal. In North Carolina, cars (i.e. sedans, coupes, and sedans) follow different laws on window tint than larger vehicles (such as trucks, SUVs, and vans, often collectively referred to as minivans or multi-purpose vehicles), so we break down regulations separately by vehicle type. Cars in North Carolina may have a tint of windows on the side windows and rear windshield that allows at least 35% or more of the visible sunlight in the car. It`s more than a dark shade to create privacy and reduce glare from the sun, but a 35% VLT shade also allows you to look closely inside the car, which is important for police officers during roadside checks. This glass tint at 35% TLV must not be more than 20% reflective.

Certification: NC does not require certified colour mirrors: Double side mirrors are REQUIRED when the rear window is tinted. Illegal hue: red, amber, yellow. Reflective tint: On no window, the film can be more than 20% reflective. Side mirrors: If the rear windows are tinted, the vehicle must be equipped with two side mirrors. Medical exemption: If you have a medical condition that requires additional UV protection, you may be eligible for a medical exemption that exempts your vehicle from standard dyeing laws. You must have an authorized waiver form signed by a doctor in North Carolina.

Posted in Uncategorized